Tweets by @yeproc

Order Young Fresh Fellow’s TIEMPO DE LUJO and watch the video for the single “A Fake Hello”


Yep Roc Records is pleased to announce the release of Tiempo De Lujo, the latest effort from garage rock band, Young Fresh Fellows. The album  contains twelve songs recorded last year in guitarist Kurt Bloch’s basement. Tiempo De Lujo seems to be the 13th long-playing platter (i.e. LP, 180 gram vinyl in this particular case) from the 75% Seattle-based quartet, although no one is exactly sure.  It gets confusing with live albums and compilations and foreign country releases, not to mention all the singles, EPs and cassettes.

This record is one of the most collaborative we’ve ever made,” says Scott McCaughey. “We learned the songs on the spot, if we’d written them already.  If we hadn’t written them we just played them without learning them.  That saved time, and therefore money.  Tiempo y dinero, amigos. The Golden Rule. We never even stopped to get beer.  Or burritos.  I think we had a cup of tea once.  Or a seltzer water with a hint of lemon.  Rick Buckler of the Jam came by to return a blazer, but otherwise we forged ahead pretty much uninterrupted.”

The songs for Tiempo De Lujo were recorded in a twelve-hour session the long-time band members “booked” in order to have an excuse to get together. What resulted was a surprisingly cohesive grouping of twelve songs — hmm, that’s one per hour… seems like it shouldn’t have taken that long — seasoned bountifully with the energy and lyricism that YFF fans have come to expect.  “Tad’s Pad” explores the inner sanctum of a drummer’s mind.  “Cleflo & Zizmor” cuts deep into a sordid world of self-help surgery.  “Margaret” is all about Margaret — or IS it?  “Death Of An Embalmer” and “(Life Is A) Funeral Factory form a celebratory welcome to Side Two.  Side Two of existence, that is.  Und so weiter.

In between performing and recording with a multitude of other combos, the Young Fresh Fellows have been recording rough-edged, witty garage pop since 1981 or 1984 depending on which calendar is used. The Fellows are Jim Sangster – bass; Kurt Bloch – guitar; Scott McCaughey – guitar; Tad Hutchison – drums.  If there are four microphones available, each Fellow will use one, with his voice.  Jim is the best screamer.  The occasional mellotron or bass harmonica is bound to turn up.  Don’t be afraid.

If you can’t say Tiempo De Lujo very well, feel free to call the album Land Of A Thousand Places.  Either way you get the same songs, which are:

1. Another Ten Reasons
2. Tad’s Pad
3. A Fake Hello
4. Cleflo & Zizmor
5. So Many Electric Guitars
6. The Say Goodbye Center
7. (Life Is A) Funeral Factory
8. Death Of An Embalmer
9. Love Luggage
10. Margaret
11. I Don’t Know Why
12. Broken Monkey


The Yep Roc Store is excited to offer fans the chance to order the band’s all-new album on CD or 180 gram vinyl.  You can bundle a Tiempo de Lujo t-shirt with the album and save exclusively at the Yep Roc Store.  The Tiempo de Lujo LP also includes a copy of the CD in the package. Every order of Tiempo de Lujo on CD or LP includes instant digital download the full album instantly.

BUT WAIT…THERE’S MORE!!!  As an added bonus, every copy of the CD and LP of Tiempo de Lujo will include a bonus download code that will unlock the full digital album Live At The Triple Door December 3rd, 2011. The live recording spans 32 songs and runs a full 90 minutes. The album includes many songs not found on any Young Fresh Fellows album, and features songs from nearly every album the band has released. It’s a veritable gold mine of quality!

Click HERE to order Tiempo de Lujo now on CD, 180g LP and Digital.

Click below to check out the Tiempo de Lujo bundles available exclusively at the Yep Roc Store and save 15% on your order!

Tags: ,