Tweets by @yeproc

The Fleshtones Celebrate 40th Anniversary With New Album; ‘The Band Drinks For Free’ Out September 2 On Yep Roc Records


“Perennial garage rockers” (SPIN), The Fleshtones—Keith Streng, Peter Zaremba, Bill Milhizer, and Ken Fox—will celebrate their 40th anniversary with the release of their 21st album, The Band Drinks For Free. Out September 2 on Yep Roc Records, the album is now available for pre-order with an instant download of “Love Like A Man.”

Recorded at Florent Barbier’s CCP Sound Studio in Brooklyn, New York, The Band Drinks For Free features 12 songs that take stock in the band’s remarkable career, and is a testament to surviving with a great attitude at great odds.

Dubbed “America’s Garage Rock Band” and “The Kings Of Garage Rock,” The Fleshtones debuted at CBGB in May 1976, and were the first band to play at Irving Plaza and Danceteria in Manhattan, Maxwell’s in Hoboken, New Jersey, and the first to be booked at the original 9:30 Club in Washington, D.C.

Well into their fifth decade of making believers out of the most jaded naysayers with their mongrel stew known as “Super Rock,” The Fleshtones have been the subject of books (Sweat by Joe Bonomo, Continuum Press 2007) and movies (Pardon Us For Living But The Graveyard’s Full, 2009) as well as amazement from fans and detractors alike.

The Band Drinks For Free Tracklisting:
Side One:
1. Love Like A Man
2. Love My Lover
3. Rick Wakerman’s Cape
4. Suburban Roulette
5. Respect Our Love
6. Living Today
Side Two:
7. Too Many Memories
8. The Gasser
9. Stupid Ol’ Sun
10. The Sinner
11. How To Make A Day
12. Before I Go